Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to your university library

This guide contains some Library related information that will be most useful in the first couple of weeks of your very first semester. As there are some changes to the Library in 2022, returning students may also find this of use.

Who's my Academic Librarian?

Each college has at least one academic librarian looking after the students and staff within it. They create and update college department guides that contain useful and relevant information for different stages of your study, so when you look at your department's subject guide you'll see a tab about them there.

They also deliver online  Database Focus sessions which look at databases which are specifically useful for your subject area and these can range from introductory sessions up to advanced or expert.

If you are a level 6 (third year undergraduate) student or above then you also have the opportunity to request an appointment with your academic librarian but you must have engaged with the Library's Develop@Derby (EYL) workshops first, so that your questions can focus on what is not covered in those sessions.

They can show you how to use subject specialist resources for your discipline, give you advice on referencing and reference managers, and a lot more. For some questions, they may refer you on to a colleague or back to your academic, but there are no stupid questions - if you don't know something, you don't know it - so it's absolutely fine to ask!.

To contact your librarian, email the Academic Librarian Team and put your librarian's name in the subject line of the email.

 

picture of Caroline BallCaroline Ball is the Academic Librarian for the College of Business, Law and Social Sciences. This includes programmes across

  • Law
  • Criminology
  • Policing
  • Marketing
  • Accounting
  • Economics
  • Politics
  • Sociology.

Jill Boland is the Academic Librarian for the College of Health, Psychology, & Social Care and within this College are the programmes associated with:

Nursing & Professional Practice - includes  nursing; midwifery; non-medical prescribing and more

Allied Health & Social Care - includes occupational therapy, hand therapy, social work, working with young people and more

Psychology - includes psychology, forensic psychology, counselling & psychotherapy, integrative counselling psychotherapy and more

Photo of Hazel RoomeHazel Roome is the Academic Librarian for Human Sciences and Natural Environment which includes:

  • Biomedical Health/Science & Human Biology 
  • Forensic Science 
  • Sport (and associated subjects) 
  • Biology & Zoology
  • Geosciences

Sally Forrest is the Academic Librarian for the School of Arts, the School of Computing and Engineering and for the School of Built and Natural Environment.  This includes programmes across:

  • Arts and Media
  • Design
  • Music and performing Arts
  • Therapeutic Arts
     
  • Computing, Maths and Engineering
  • Built Environment

Steven BembridgeSteven Bembridge is the academic librarian for Humanities, Journalism and Education, which includes:

  • History
  • English
  • Journalism
  • Education

Academic Librarian Photos

Caroline Ball

Caroline Ball

Jill Boland

Jill Boland

Hazel Roome

Hazel Roome

Sally Forrest

Sally Forrest

Steven Bembridge

Steven Bembridge