History

British History Online - contains nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. 

Cabinet Papers 1915-1982. - National Archives collection which can be searched by theme as well as title

Charles Booth's London - enables you to search the catalogue of over 450 original noteBooks from the Inquiry into Life and Labour in London (1886-1903), view 41 digitised noteBooks and explore the London poverty maps.

Clergy of the Church of England Database  1540-1835 -  makes available and searchable the principal records of clerical careers from over 50 archives in England and Wales with the aim of providing coverage of as many clerical lives as possible from the Reformation to the mid-nineteenth century. 

Europeana Collections - Discover inspiring cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives

Eurodocs - Primary historical documents from Western Europe. All documents are Open Access.

German Propaganda Archive - includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material

Hidden Lives Revealed - Information about children who were in the care of the Children's Society in late Victorian and early 20th Century Britain. There are transcripts and original documents giving information on the children and homes.

Historical Directories-  a digital library of local and trade directories for England and Wales. Hosted by the University of Leicester, it contains high quality reproductions of comparatively rare books, essential tools for research into local and genealogical history.

JISC Archives Hub - Themed collections - Details a number of free archive collections covering a range of disciplines

London Lives  - makes available, in a fully digitised and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners. 

London Picture Map - Over 250,000 photographs, prints and drawings as well as over 1,000 maps from the collections at LMA are available to view. The images provide an extraordinary record of London and its people from the fifteenth century to the present day. 

Observing the Eighties - brings together voices from the Mass Observation Project & British Library Oral History Collections alongside ephemera from the University of Sussex Library.

Official-Documents.gov.uk -  the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers. All Command Papers and House of Commons Papers published from May 2005 onwards, as well as key Departmental papers, are available for free on the site in PDF format.​​​​

Arkwright Society : Cromford Mills - Cromford Mills is a UNESCO World Heritage Site owned and managed by The Arkwright Society - an educational charity devoted to the rescue of the industrial heritage buildings and helping to preserve the precious built and natural landscape in and around Cromford.

Association for Heritage Interpretation AHI aims to promote excellence in the practice and provision of interpretation and to gain wider recognition of interpretation as a professional activity.

Association for Independent Museums AIM is a membership network for independent museums, galleries and heritage organisations across the UK.

British Association for Local History -  the national charity which promotes local history and serves local historians

Derbyshire Archaeological Society - The Derbyshire Archaeological Society was founded in 1878 to encourage interest in the County’s archaeology and natural history.

Derbyshire Family History Society - For over 25 years the Society has linked together people researching their family history in Derbyshire.

English Heritage -cares for over 400 historic buildings, monuments and sites - from world-famous prehistoric sites to grand medieval castles, from Roman forts on the edges of the empire to a Cold War bunker. Through these, we bring the story of England to life for over 10 million people each year.

Heanor & District Local History Society - website of Local History society

Historic England - the public body that helps people care for, enjoy and celebrate England's spectacular historic environment. 

Ilkeston & District Local History Society - The Society was established in 1966 to foster the study of local history and research into all aspects of the history of Ilkeston and the district.

Historical Association - The HA "support the teaching, learning and enjoyment of history at all levels and bring together people who share an interest in and love for the past."

Institute of Conservation The Institute of Conservation is the professional body for the conservation of our cultural heritage

Institute of Historical Research - The Institute of Historical Research is the UK's national centre for history, dedicated to supporting historians of all kinds.

International Council of Museums - The International Council Of Museums is the global organisation of museums and museum professionals  committed to the conservation of the world’s natural and cultural heritage

International Federation for Public History The federation’s purpose is to encourage, promote, and coordinate, at an international level, contacts, teaching and research in public history.

Museums Association - Aiming to "Inspire museums to change lives." and support "Inclusive, participatory and sustainable museums at the heart of their communities."

National Trust - with 5.6 million members, 65,000 volunteers and 14,000 staff we are now the biggest conservation charity in Europe, caring for over 250,000 hectares of farmland, 780 miles of coastline and 500 historic properties, gardens and nature reserves, for everyone, for ever.

Royal Historical Society - Founded in 1868 the Royal Historical Society has become the foremost society in the UK working with professional historians and advancing the scholarly study of the past.

UK Parliament - The UK Parliament has two Houses that work on "behalf of UK citizens to check and challenge the work of Government, make and shape effective laws, and debate/make decisions on the big issues of the day."

UNESCO World Heritage Site - Listing of Unesco World Heritage site 

Women's History Network-  a national association and charity for the promotion of women’s history and the encouragement of women and men interested in women’s history.

BBC News site - Keep up to date with latest news

BBC Podcasts and Downloads Collections - History podcasts

Centre for History and New Media - based at George Mason University. Links to lots of history resources available online.

Culture Grid - A range of collections from the heritage sector linked under one search facility.

​​​​​​​Films from the Home Front  -brings together a collection of unique moving images illustrating what life was like for ordinary people in Britain during the Second World War, as seen through amateur documentaries, newsreels, government films, and home movies.​​​​​​​

The History Hour - Weekly history podcast from the BBC World Service.

History West Midlands -an independent website which provides free access to a variety of programmes and different media focussing on the history of the people of the West Midlands, their ideas, innovation and industry.

Joseph Rowntree Foundation - Independent social change organisation working to solve UK poverty

Life Photo Archive - Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Local History Online - for those with an interest in Local history

National Archives: Public Information Films - view public information films from 1945-2006.  

Political Science Resources -links to political resources mainly for the UK and USA.

Public History Weekly -Open access international blog/journal for discussing all aspects of history.

Revolutionary Players - Website collecting materials on the history of the Industrial Revolution in the West Midlands in Britain between the years 1700 and 1830.

Transitions Online -Online news site covering Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans and the former Soviet Union.

The Victorian Web - Links and resources covering a wide range of arts and humanities topics.

Viva: Women's history - a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals.

Voice of the Shuttle: History resources -Links to a wide range of history resources available on the internet.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs -over 2000 annotated links to  English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.