The University has Library facilities at five sites:
Kedleston Road
Kedleston Road Library is the main university library and holds a large cross disciplinary collection of books, journals, and media resources. You can find interactive maps for the Kedleston Road library on the library home page and here https://libcal.derby.ac.uk/maps
We have a local history collection and the Schools Practice collection here too.
Britannia Mill
The collection at Britannia Mill library focusses on Arts with a modest collection of engineering books. It is where you can find the Special Collection: Art; a reference only collection of rare or interesting art books.
Devonshire Library, Buxton
The HUB, Leek
The collections at Buxton and Leek support FE and HE courses taught there
St Helena Resource Centre, Chesterfield
The collection at Chesterfield supports the Health and Nursing courses taught there and is supplemented by a collection held at Chesterfield Royal Hospital
Accessibility information
The AcessAble website (previously known as Disabled Go) provides information about the accessibility features of all the University sites.
All links will open in a new window.
The Library website is the key site to locate all the information and links that you will need to access online resources. All staff can access our subscribed online resources by using their staff username and password from your own work PC or from one within the library.
Here's a quick introduction to the library home page and what you will find there.
You can access the library home page from several places:
From Staff id – Academic@Derby - Library link
From the bottom of the University home page (look for the library link)
From within Udo (look for the library tile)
The library home page is the main source of information on the services and support available to both students and staff at the University. It’s where you can find any updates or alerts that may be affecting the library opening or operating as normal.
The home page uses a range of buttons in the top section of the page with icons that are outlined below.
Library Search: this searches print resources across all library sites and our online collection of eBooks and journal articles.
Journals: a catalogue of all the online journals we subscribe to, browsable by subject.
Databases: an A-Z list of all the online collections we subscribe to.
Reading Lists: access the main reading lists platform (used by students)
Lean Library: a browser extension, free to download, that makes locating resources on Google Scholar much easier.
Udora: links to the University Research repository.
Using the Library: includes information about borrowing, reserving and returning books.
Your staff card is your library card, you will need it to borrow books (you can have 15 of these at any time)
All books are issued for one week, and renew automatically unless someone else has reserved them
You can reserve books from any site, to be sent to and collected from any site
Book a Study Space: for student use only.
Workshops: A full calendar of our events running throughout the year. The majority of these are online but we also have some on-campus sessions.
Maps: Floor plans of the Kedleston Road Library
Books for you: a scheme for students to recommend new books for the Library.
Most of our libraries have a variety of physical study spaces for staff and students that reflect diverse learning styles and personal preferences. These range from silent study spaces that include individual study carrels, to areas where people can work as a group, discussing ideas together and are generally zoned spaces, colour coded to reflect the type of study area they are.
Study rooms
Students are able to book quiet study rooms for 1-4 people. If you need to meet with a student in a quiet space you will need to ask them to book the room.
Accessibility information
We have a detailed guide about disability and accessibility support available to staff and students.
