Microsoft Excel is part of the Microsoft Office suite of software. It is used for creating spreadsheets in which data is stored in cells laid out in rows and columns. It can be used to store and organise large amounts of data and also to manipulate the data, for example carrying out calculations or analysis and producing charts.
Excel is very versatile and has many uses such as:
To get started with Excel, see the links below for quick help sheets, online training, and further reading.
Excel Online Training
Excel Further Reading
Excel 2019 for Dummies by
The bestselling Excel book on the market -- now in a new edition covering the latest version of Excel! Excel is the spreadsheet and data analysis tool of choice for people across the globe who utilize the Microsoft Office suite to make their work and personal lives easier. It is estimated that 1 in 7 people on the planet use Microsoft Office! If you're one of them, and want to get up to speed on the latest changes in Excel, you've come to the right place. Excel 2019 For Dummies has been updated to reflect the major changes and features made to Excel and covers everything you need to know to perform any spreadsheet task at hand. It includes information on creating and editing worksheets, formatting cells, entering formulas, creating and editing charts, inserting graphs, designing database forms, adding database records, using seek-and-find options, printing, adding hyperlinks to worksheets, saving worksheets as web pages, adding existing worksheet data to an existing webpage, pivot tables, pivot charts, formulas and functions, Excel data analysis, sending worksheets via e-mail, and so much more! Get to know the new Excel interface Become a pro at the spreadsheet and data analysis tool that's available as part of the Microsoft Office suite Find time-tested and trusted advice from bestselling author and expert Greg Harvey Use Excel to streamline your processes and make your work life easier than ever before Written by a bestselling author and seasoned educator, Excel 2019 For Dummies makes it easier than ever to get everything out of this powerful data tool.
Excel Data Analysis by
Want to take the guesswork out of analyzing data? Let Excel do all the work for you! Data collection, management and analysis is the key to making effective business decisions, and if you are like most people, you probably don't take full advantage of Excel's data analysis tools. With Excel Data Analysis For Dummies, 3rd Edition, you'll learn how to leverage Microsoft Excel to take your data analysis to new heights by uncovering what is behind all of those mind-numbing numbers. The beauty of Excel lies in its functionality as a powerful data analysis tool. This easy-to-read guide will show you how to use Excel in conjunction with external databases, how to fully leverage PivotTables and PivotCharts, tips and tricks for using Excel's statistical and financial functions, how to visually present your data so it makes sense, and information about the fancier, more advanced tools for those who have mastered the basics! Once you're up to speed, you can stop worrying about how to make use of all that data you have on your hands and get down to the business of discovering meaningful, actionable insights for your business or organization. Excel is the most popular business intelligence tool in the world, and the newest update - Microsoft Excel 2016 - features even more powerful features for data analysis and visualization. Users can slice and dice their data and create visual presentations that turn otherwise indecipherable reports into easy-to-digest presentations that can quickly and effectively illustrate the key insights you are seeking. Fully updated to cover the latest updates and features of Excel 2016 Learn useful details about statistics, analysis, and visual presentations for your data Features coverage of database and statistics functions, descriptive statistics, inferential statistics, and optimization modeling with Solver Helps anyone who needs insight into how to get things done with data that is unwieldy and difficult to understand With Excel Data Analysis For Dummies, 3rd Edition, you'll soon be quickly and easily performing key analyses that can drive organizational decisions and create competitive advantages.
Data Visualization with Excel Dashboards and Reports by
Large corporations like IBM and Oracle are using Excel dashboards and reports as a Business Intelligence tool, and many other smaller businesses are looking to these tools in order to cut costs for budgetary reasons. An effective analyst not only has to have the technical skills to use Excel in a productive manner but must be able to synthesize data into a story, and then present that story in the most impactful way. Microsoft shows its recognition of this with Excel. In Excel, there is a major focus on business intelligence and visualization. Data Visualization with Excel Dashboards and Reports fills the gap between handling data and synthesizing data into meaningful reports. This title will show readers how to think about their data in ways other than columns and rows. Most Excel books do a nice job discussing the individual functions and tools that can be used to create an "Excel Report". Titles on Excel charts, Excel pivot tables, and other books that focus on "Tips and Tricks" are useful in their own right; however they don't hit the mark for most data analysts. The primary reason these titles miss the mark is they are too focused on the mechanical aspects of building a chart, creating a pivot table, or other functionality. They don't offer these topics in the broader picture by showing how to present and report data in the most effective way. What are the most meaningful ways to show trending? How do you show relationships in data? When is showing variances more valuable than showing actual data values? How do you deal with outliers? How do you bucket data in the most meaningful way? How do you show impossible amounts of data without inundating your audience? In Data Visualization with Excel Reports and Dashboards, readers will get answers to all of these questions. Part technical manual, part analytical guidebook; this title will help Excel users go from reporting data with simple tables full of dull numbers, to creating hi-impact reports and dashboards that will wow management both visually and substantively. This book offers a comprehensive review of a wide array of technical and analytical concepts that will help users create meaningful reports and dashboards. After reading this book, the reader will be able to: Analyze large amounts of data and report their data in a meaningful way Get better visibility into data from different perspectives Quickly slice data into various views on the fly Automate redundant reporting and analyses Create impressive dashboards and What-If analyses Understand the fundamentals of effective visualization Visualize performance comparisons Visualize changes and trends over time
