The Core databases are a good place to start when you're conducting research within your discipline; you can search for journals, articles, conference papers and eBooks which the University Library pays for you to access.
You need to have logged into UDo to use the databases and can access them both in the University and off campus.
You will be able to read many of the articles you find, in full, online and download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the 'Abstract' or description of the article; in these cases you may be able to get the resource through our Inter Library loan service
Remember that you can search across even more resources by searching on Library Search but you will be less overwhelmed with the number of results you get back if you choose to search individual databases, and some databases are not included in Library Search so if it's one related to your discipline you will still need to search those databases separately.. You'll also have access to all of the search options each individual database provides.
Don't forget that many databases also allow you to create a personal account so that you can save your search strategies and your results to come back to later.
If you have trouble searching / using any of these resources, have a look at the Getting the most from Subject Databases tab in the left-hand menu for videos, interactive tutorials, and other documentation.
This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a research database that covers key biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. It is particularly useful for researchers from medical and scientific backgrounds.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.
This link opens in a new windowOpen Access Life Science & Medical journals. Hosted by the National Library of Medicine.
Click here for information on the difference between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central)
Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970. See below for additional information.
These databases may be useful to search in addition to the core items listed on the previous tab. It will depend on what you're looking for and what you've found already. If you're doing a piece of work at the level of an MSc thesis or a PhD then you may find it useful to search some of the resources listed here as well.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. See below for additional information.
Depending on the research you're conducting you may--or may not--find some of the resources listed here useful. Not everything will be useful all of the time but it's something to bear in mind. If in doubt, go to the database and look at what material is covered; you can then make your decision based on your research needs at that moment.
This link opens in a new windowOpen Access Life Science & Medical journals. Similar to PubMed Central, supported by 26 funders of life sciences and biomedical research, including charities and government organisations across Europe.
This link opens in a new windowFull text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.
This link opens in a new windowTo look for local or regional statistics, click on "Looking for local statistics?" which can be found on the bottom left of the ONS homepage.
Open Access resources are ones which contain freely available material--so no password or payment is needed to access the full-text of those resources. You may find that for some journals only part of the content is Open Access while the rest requires a subscription (often the latest content) but the majority of items listed here should be fully available
This link opens in a new windowPart of Springer Nature, BMC is a full-text collection of around 300 open access, peer-reviewed journals. It is online only.
With over 200,000 articles, PLoS is the pre-eminent open access publisher for journal articles in science and medicine.
This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world. You can search by article, journal or browse by subject.
This drop-down list will show the full list of resources that may be useful to you.
They are not all primary sources of information and they are not all 100% full-text.
