E-Journals Finder, which is an A-Z list of our electronic journals, is different from Library Plus (and any other database) in a couple of ways.
Firstly, unlike a database, you cannot search it for article titles on their own, you would have to search for a journal title first and then once you had that result up you could then search within the journal for a particular article.
Secondly, the E-Journals Finder lists all of the journals we have full-text access to. These may be journals we subscribe to; journals we get as part of a bigger, subject specific 'bundle' (i.e. health & social care journals); or they may be journals we have free access to. All are listed in the E-Journals Finder.
So, when would you use the E-Journals Finder?
Click here for more (with screenshots)
You would search it if you had a complete article reference and you wanted to (a) know if we had full-text, electronic access to the journal the article's in and (b) to quickly access the full-text if it's available.
The Finder is essentially good when you know exactly what you want and what journal you can find it in.
See the example below.
This will search our collection of electronic journals for all titles which include your search terms, and give you information about which database the journal is hosted on. You may find that some journals are hosted on multiple databases, often with different years of coverage.
Click on the link for the database you wish to access. This will take you to that journal's page on that database. You will then need to navigate to the year, and then volume and issue number for the article in question.
NOTE: Many of the databases have different search mechanisms and interfaces, so one may work differently to another. You will become familiar with these the more you use them. If you get stuck or confused at any point, get in touch with your academic librarian.
Using the search box for the E-Journals Finder below, look for this article:
McClimens, A., Bosworth, D., Brewster, J., & Nutting, C. (2012) Contemporary issues in the training of UK health and social care professionals : Looking after people with a learning disability. Nurse Education Today. 32(7), 817-821.
When you've found the article, open it as a PDF document and save a copy of it.
Remember!!
You may have the complete reference for an article but you can only put the journal title into the initial search box. If you put the article title in your search will fail.
Searching for the journal title is Step 1.
Once you've got the link to the journal, go to the page and find the article using the rest of your reference.
If you don't find your journal title in the electronic list remember to search the Library Catalogue as well.
There are some journals that we still only have in print form and you will either have to go to the particular library that holds them to read/ photocopy your article or, if, for example, you want an article from a journal at our Devonshire campus and you're based at Kedleston Road, you can ask for the article to be photocopied for you and sent down to your main library for you to collect.
Please ask at the Library loans counter for more information about this service, including pricing.
