Accessibility Support from the Library

EBooks are provided by a range of suppliers who all provide a range of assistive features to make them easier to read.  Some provide more features than others but in general you should be able to

• change the text size
• bookmark pages
• add notes to pages or highlight sections of text

You may need to use additional features within your browser or within your e-reader software to make the eBook more accessible.  

If using tablets or mobile devices you may need to download Adobe Digital Editions before you can download an eBook.  You may find it better to use the READ ONLINE option.

We have a separate guide about finding and using eBooks here. It includes advice about accessibility features from our main eBook providers.

We provide access to databases from different suppliers - each offers a range of assistive features for you to use.

The links below connect you to the accessibility pages on a range of our main database providers.

EBSCOhost Databases

https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Accessibility-Navigation-Guide?language=en_US

Features include:

• Accessibility statement
• Screen-reader flexibility – Firefox and Chrome users can use NDVA, IE users will require JAWS
• Keyboard friendly - shortcuts that work with each screen reader/browser
• Screen readers support PDFs - download directly from the databases and open them in Adobe Reader

PROQUEST Databases

https://support.proquest.com/articledetail?id=kA140000000GuogCAC

Features include:

• Accessibility statement
• Accessibility directory and specifics for all ProQuest databases
• Document processing service (up to 3 documents per request) - for users who have difficulties accessing content with adaptive technology

You can contact their support team below.

https://support.proquest.com/submitcase

GALE Databases

https://www.cengage.com/accessibility/

We have several Gale databases, including Academic OneFile and General OneFile.

Cengage (Gale's parent company) have provided some general accessibility information.

IEEE Xplore

https://ieeexplore.ieee.org.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/Xplorehelp/accessibility-statement.html  

Features include:

• Accessibility statement
• Documentation, including accessibility roadmap
• Product support, including a known issues/solutions guide

JISC Databases

There is specific information available for different Jisc databases.

https://historicaltexts-jisc-ac-uk.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/accessibility

https://journalarchives-jisc-ac-uk.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/accessibility

Bloomsbury Collections

https://www-bloomsburycollections-com.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/accessibility

Features include:

• Accessibility statement
• Compatible with NVDA, JAWS, VoiceOver, Adobe Read Out Loud and various text-to-speech software
• Keyboard friendly - shortcuts that work with each screen reader/browser

We provide access to journals from different suppliers - each offers a range of assistive features for you to use.

Several key database suppliers are listed below and links to their accessibility statements are provided.

SAGE Journals

https://journals.sagepub.com/page/help/accessibility

Features include:

• Alternative formats are available – you need to email Online.Accessibility@sagepub.com
• Videos and podcasts can be controlled by keyboard
• Responsive design - page layout changes when you use zoom level in your browser
• Screen-reader friendly - compatible with JAWS, NVDA, all current browser versions
• Some podcasts on SAGE Journals have transcripts available for hearing impaired users.

Cambridge University Press (CUP)

https://www-cambridge-org.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/core/accessibility

Features include:

• Accessibility statement included
• Compatible with NVDA, JAWS, VoiceOver, Adobe Read Out Loud and various text-to-speech software
• Users can generate shareable links to content via the Cambridge Core Share tool

Springer

https://www.springeropen.com/accessibility

Features include:

• Accessibility statement included
• Compatibility with most screen-readers, screen magnifiers, speech packages

Taylor & Francis

https://www.tandfonline.com/accessibility

Features include:

• Compatibility with most screen-readers, screen magnifiers, speech packages
• Specific guidance provided for Opera users

Emerald

https://www.emeraldinsight.com/page/accessibility

Features include:

• Keyboard navigation – use the TAB key to navigate to links
• ‘Skip to main content’ – you can quickly navigate to the most important sections of a page

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/support/web-accessibility

Features include:

• A useful summary chart of accessibility/usability features on ScienceDirect
• Detailed guides on reading formats (HTML, PDF, EPUB3, VitalSource)
• Images have alternative text descriptions and captions
• Keyboard-only friendly - controls/features can be operated by keyboard only
• Screen-reader friendly - compatible with JAWS, NVDA, VoiceOver

JSTOR

https://about-jstor-org.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/accessibility/

Features include:

• Accessibility statement included
• Reformatting service (up to 3 documents per request) - for users who have difficulties accessing content with adaptive technology
• Screen-reader friendly - works with JAWS
• Downloadable compliance documentation

You can contact their support team below.

support@jstor.org

Wiley Online Library

https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/accessibility

Features include:

• Accessibility statement included

Oxford University Press (OUP)

https://academic-oup-com.ezproxy.derby.ac.uk/journals/pages/about_us/legal/accessibility

Features include:

• Accessibility statement included