Skip to Main Content

Law

Academic Journals - What, Why, Where and How?

Journal articles are scholarly publications that delve into specific legal topics, providing in-depth analysis, critical commentary, or original research findings. They are typically published in academic law journals, which are specialised periodicals focusing on various areas of law, such as criminal law, contract law, or human rights law.

Why Journal Articles Matter for Law Students:

  • Unparalleled Legal Insight: Law journals are the primary platforms for disseminating the latest legal research, theoretical developments, and emerging trends in the legal field. By reading journal articles, you gain a deeper understanding of complex legal issues, different interpretations of the law, and potential avenues for legal reform.
  • Authoritative and Reliable Information: Journal articles undergo a rigorous peer-review process, where legal experts assess the quality, accuracy, and significance of the research. This ensures that the information you encounter is reliable, well-reasoned, and grounded in legal principles.
  • Building Blocks for Legal Arguments: Journal articles often provide the foundation for legal arguments, offering in-depth analysis of legal precedents, statutory interpretations, and policy considerations. By referencing these articles, you can strengthen your legal arguments, demonstrate your understanding of the law, and make persuasive legal claims.
  • Honing Your Legal Skills: Engaging with journal articles cultivates your ability to critically analyse legal arguments, evaluate evidence, and synthesise complex information. These skills are essential for legal practice, whether you're drafting legal documents, conducting legal research, or arguing a case in court.
  • Essential for Academic and Career Success: Law school assignments, such as legal research papers, case analyses, and moot court arguments, often require you to demonstrate your ability to find, evaluate, and incorporate scholarly legal sources like journal articles. Additionally, proficiency in legal research and analysis is highly sought after by law firms, government agencies, and other legal employers.

In the World of Law:

Journal articles are particularly important for law students as they offer:

  • In-depth Legal Analysis: Articles often explore complex legal issues in detail, providing nuanced interpretations and critical perspectives that you may not find in textbooks or case law alone.
  • Emerging Legal Trends: Journals are at the forefront of legal scholarship, showcasing new legal theories, emerging legal issues, and potential areas for legal reform.
  • Specialised Legal Knowledge: Articles often focus on specific areas of law, allowing you to delve deeper into your areas of interest and gain specialised knowledge.

Library Search and all legal databases—for example, Westlaw, Lexis and HeinOnline—will present you with journal articles for your essays and assignments.

But you might sometimes want to browse the journals from which the articles came. In other words, you want to see the journal titles that the library has available for you. 

The easiest way to do this is to use BrowZine. This is a list of all the journal titles to which the library gives you some kind of access (see below for more about this). Click the image below or follow this link to see Law journal titles in BrowZine.

There are also subheadings for topics such as legal ethics, dispute resolution, jurisprudence, and so on. You may also want to browse other categories such as Criminology or Politics for journals in related areas.

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: BrowZine will list all the journal titles that the library provides, but a specific journal may have been publishing for years. This means that it is not always financially possible for the library to provide 'all' the content of a particular journal title.  

The key thing to look out for is a padlock symbol next to a particular year/volume of the journal. If you see a padlock, it means that the library does not provide access to this particular journal year/issue—but other years/issues will be available because the title is on BrowZine. It will make more sense when you start to use it!

For UK law students, there are many prestigious and influential legal journals that offer valuable insights into various legal disciplines. Here are a few notable examples:

 

Business and Human Rights Journal (BHRJ): This journal explores the intersection of business and human rights law and practice. It covers a wide range of topics, including corporate social responsibility, labour rights, environmental protection, and access to justice.

 
 
 

Modern Law Review (MLR): Founded in 1937, the MLR is known for its critical and socio-legal approach to legal scholarship. It covers diverse areas of law, with a focus on legal theory, jurisprudence, and legal history.

 
 
 

Cambridge Law Journal (CLJ): Established in 1921, the CLJ is a leading journal for academic legal research. It publishes articles on various aspects of English law, comparative law, and international law.

 
 
 

Medical Law Review (Med L Rev): This journal is an authoritative source for academics, legal professionals, and healthcare practitioners alike. It provides in-depth analysis and commentary on a wide range of topical issues in healthcare law and ethics, including medical negligence, informed consent, end-of-life care, and reproductive rights.

 
 

Journal of Criminal Law (JCL):  This journal provides comprehensive coverage of key developments, case analyses, legislative updates, and insightful commentary on all aspects of criminal law and procedure in the UK.

 

 
 

These are just a few examples of the many excellent legal journals available to UK law students. By exploring these and other journals, you can deepen your understanding of the law, stay informed about current legal developments, and develop your legal research and writing skills.

Law reports and journals are filled with seemingly cryptic abbreviations like "AC," "QB," or "Ch." While these might appear daunting at first, they serve a crucial purpose in legal writing: brevity and precision.

Why Abbreviations?

  • Space-saving: Legal citations often include lengthy case names, journal titles, and other information. Abbreviations help condense this information, making legal documents more concise and easier to read.
  • Standardisation: Abbreviations ensure consistency in legal citations, making it easier for lawyers and researchers to locate and reference specific sources.

The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is your essential tool for deciphering these abbreviations. It's a comprehensive online database that allows you to:

  • Search by abbreviation: Find the full title of a law report or journal when you only have the abbreviation.
  • Search by title: Find the correct abbreviation for a specific law report or journal.

The Cardiff Index covers a vast range of legal publications from the UK, US, and other common law jurisdictions, making it an invaluable resource for legal research and writing.

How to Access the Cardiff Index:

The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is freely available online at: https://www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk/

Tips for Using Abbreviations:

  • Learn the most common abbreviations: Familiarise yourself with the standard abbreviations for frequently cited law reports and journals.
  • Consult the Cardiff Index: When you encounter an unfamiliar abbreviation, use the Cardiff Index to find its meaning.
  • Follow citation guidelines: Ensure you use the correct abbreviations and OSCOLA formatting when citing legal sources in your work.