Skip to Main Content

Law

Getting started

Why Choose Academic Resources Over General Websites?

Think of the internet as a vast library, filled with both reliable legal information and questionable interpretations. While it can be a helpful starting point, relying solely on general websites is like building your legal arguments on shaky foundations.

  • Legal Rigour: Academic resources like law journals, legal textbooks, and reputable legal databases are vetted by legal experts. They undergo rigorous scrutiny to ensure accuracy, credibility, and relevance to your legal studies.
  • Depth and Breadth of Legal Insights: Academic sources delve deep into complex legal issues, offering nuanced analysis, historical context, and in-depth commentary. They provide the foundation for a solid understanding of legal principles, case law, and statutory interpretation.
  • Credibility and Authority: Citing academic sources in your legal memos, essays, or court submissions demonstrates that you've engaged with the most reliable information available, enhancing the credibility of your own legal arguments.

Why Learn to Use the Law Library and Legal Databases?

Think of the law library and legal databases as the well-organised repositories where the most valuable legal resources are stored. Learning to navigate these resources is like obtaining the keys to unlock a wealth of legal knowledge.

  • Curated Legal Collections: Law libraries and databases offer curated collections of scholarly legal materials, saving you time and effort in sifting through the vastness of the internet.
  • Specialised Legal Tools: Legal databases offer advanced search features tailored to legal research, allowing you to pinpoint the exact cases, statutes, or legal commentary you need.
  • Expert Guidance: Your Law Librarian is your trusted advisor, offering assistance and expertise in navigating these resources effectively and efficiently.

In the World of Law:

Relying on academic resources is paramount in the legal profession, where sound legal arguments and accurate interpretations of the law are essential.

  • Strong Legal Arguments: Academic research provides the evidence base for compelling legal arguments, persuasive legal writing, and effective advocacy.
  • Competitive Advantage: Access to the latest legal research and scholarly analysis gives you a competitive edge, allowing you to stay ahead of legal developments and anticipate changes in the law.
  • Professional Growth: Engaging with academic legal literature helps you develop critical legal thinking skills, expand your legal knowledge, and stay informed about emerging legal issues.

Building a Winning Legal Research Strategy: A Law Student's Guide

Imagine you're preparing for a court case. You wouldn't just walk into the courtroom unprepared, right? You'd need to research relevant laws, precedents, and legal arguments. The same goes for academic legal research. A well-crafted search strategy is your roadmap to uncovering the legal principles and case law you need to make informed legal arguments. Here's how to create one:

1. Define Your Legal Question: What specific legal issue or problem are you trying to understand? Be clear and focused on your research objective.

  • Example: "Under UK law, what are the legal requirements for a valid contract, and what remedies are available for a breach of contract?"

2. Identify Key Legal Concepts: Break down your question into its core legal ideas or concepts.

  • Example: "contract formation," "valid contract," "breach of contract," "remedies"

3. Generate Relevant Search Terms: List synonyms, related terms, and different ways of expressing each legal concept.

  • Example:
    • Contract formation: "agreement," "offer," "acceptance," "consideration"
    • Valid contract: "enforceable contract," "legal capacity," "intention to create legal relations"
    • Breach of contract: "non-performance," "repudiation," "anticipatory breach"
    • Remedies: "damages," "specific performance," "injunction"

4. Determine Information Needs: What types of information are you looking for? Case law? Legislation? Legal commentary? Academic articles? This will help you decide where to search.

5. Select Your Research Tools:

  • Westlaw UK or LexisLibrary: For comprehensive legal databases containing case law, legislation, and legal commentary.
  • Library Search: For books, legal journals, and other relevant materials held by your university library.
  • Government Websites: For official legislation and government publications (e.g., legislation.gov.uk).
  • Legal Blogs and News Websites: For current legal news and analysis.

6. Construct Your Search String: Use your list of search terms, Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), wildcards (*, ?), and phrase searching ("") to create a precise search query.

  • Example: ("contract formation" OR agreement) AND ("breach of contract" OR repudiation) AND remedies

7. Refine Your Search: If you get too many results, narrow your search by adding more specific terms or using filters (e.g., jurisdiction, date). If you get too few results, broaden your search by using synonyms or removing some terms.

8. Evaluate Your Sources Critically: Always assess the credibility and relevance of the information you find. Look for sources that are authoritative, up-to-date, and relevant to your jurisdiction.

Tips for Law Students:

  • Consult with Your Law Librarian: Your law librarian can help you refine your search and find the most relevant legal sources.
  • Focus on Primary Sources: Prioritise legislation and case law over secondary sources like textbooks and legal commentary.
  • Use Headnotes and Summaries: These can help you quickly identify the key points of a case or legal argument.
  • Stay Up-to-Date: Legal research is constantly evolving. Keep abreast of new developments in your area of interest.

Critical Evaluation: Your Essential Skill for Academic Success in Law

As a law student, you'll encounter a vast array of information sources, from statutes and case law to legal commentaries, academic articles, news reports, and online resources. Developing a discerning eye for evaluating the credibility, reliability, and relevance of these sources is paramount to your academic success and the development of your legal expertise.

Why Critical Evaluation Matters in Law:

  • Informed Legal Analysis: By critically evaluating sources, you can make informed decisions about which legal authorities to rely on and incorporate into your legal arguments, memos, and essays.
  • Academic Rigour: Critical evaluation is a cornerstone of legal research and analysis, demonstrating your ability to engage with legal sources thoughtfully and draw well-founded conclusions.
  • Avoiding Misinterpretations: The ability to distinguish between reliable legal information and misinformation or outdated interpretations is crucial for understanding complex legal issues and making sound legal arguments.
  • Building Credibility: By citing credible and well-evaluated legal sources, you enhance the credibility and persuasiveness of your own legal arguments and analyses.
  • Identifying and Challenging Biases: Critically evaluating sources allows you to identify and challenge biases, including those stemming from specific legal theories, judicial philosophies, or advocacy groups. These biases can skew interpretations of the law and potentially lead to flawed legal arguments or unjust outcomes.

Key Questions to Consider When Evaluating Legal Sources:

Authority:

  • Author/Organisation: Who is the author or organisation responsible for the information? Are they recognized legal experts, reputable legal institutions (e.g., Supreme Court, Law Commission), or established legal publishers (e.g., Sweet & Maxwell, LexisNexis)? Research their background, legal affiliations, and potential biases.
  • Credentials: What are the author's or organisation's qualifications and experience in the relevant area of law? Look for information about their legal education, professional experience, publications, or any awards or recognition they have received.
  • Publication Venue: Where was the information published? Is it a peer-reviewed law journal (e.g., Law Quarterly Review, Cambridge Law Journal), a reputable legal publication (e.g., New Law Journal, Law Society Gazette), a government website (e.g., legislation.gov.uk), or a personal blog? Consider the reputation and editorial standards of the publication venue.

Accuracy:

  • Evidence and Sources: Is the legal information supported by evidence? Does the author cite their sources? Are the sources primary legal authorities (e.g., statutes, case law, regulations) or credible secondary sources (e.g., legal treatises, academic articles)? Verify the accuracy and relevance of the cited sources.
  • Methodology (If Applicable): If the source presents legal analysis or research findings, is the methodology clearly explained and appropriate for the legal question? Does it consider the specific legal context and potential limitations of the data or analysis?
  • Legal Arguments: Are the legal arguments presented in the document sound and well-reasoned? Do they accurately reflect current laws, legal principles, and judicial interpretations? Be wary of unsupported assertions, misinterpretations of the law, or outdated legal analysis.

Objectivity:

  • Bias: Does the author or organisation have a vested interest in the legal issue or outcome? Are they affiliated with a particular political party, advocacy group, or industry? Consider how their perspective might be influenced by their affiliations or interests.
  • Perspective: Does the information present a balanced view of the legal issue, considering different legal arguments, precedents, and potential counterarguments? Or is it biased, one-sided, or overly focused on a particular legal theory or outcome?
  • Language: Is the language used neutral, objective, and precise, or is it emotionally charged, biased, or overly persuasive? Look for signs of advocacy, exaggeration, or one-sided arguments.

Currency:

  • Date: When was the legal information published? Is it up-to-date and relevant to current laws, regulations, and judicial interpretations? Be wary of outdated information, as laws and legal precedents can change rapidly.

Additional Considerations:

  • Relevance: Does the information directly address your research question or legal issue? Is it relevant to your specific area of interest within the law?
  • Intended Audience: Who is the intended audience for this information? Is it written for legal scholars, practitioners, judges, policymakers, or the general public?
  • Purpose: What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, educate, advocate, persuade, or provide legal analysis? Understanding the purpose can help you assess the potential biases and limitations of the source.
  • Jurisdiction: Is the legal information relevant to the jurisdiction you are studying or practicing in? Laws and legal precedents can vary significantly between jurisdictions.

By applying these critical evaluation skills to every legal source you encounter, you can ensure that your research and analyses are based on reliable, accurate, and relevant legal information, leading to a deeper understanding of complex legal issues and more informed decision-making in your academic and professional life.