Law

• The National Archives: The Official Source
  • Browse new judgments: The "Find case law" section on The National Archives website provides access to recently published judgments from various courts in England and Wales.
  • Search for specific cases: Use the structured search functionality to find judgments by case name, citation, judge, or keyword.

• Westlaw and Lexis: Legal Databases with Citator Functionality
  • Check for case status changes: Both platforms indicate if a case has been appealed, overturned, or distinguished by subsequent decisions using visual cues (e.g., green ticks, red stop signs, and other symbols).
  • Use citators: Both Westlaw and Lexis provide detailed citator features for cases, including citations, approvals, overrulings, and discussions in later judgments.
  • Read case summaries/analyses and headnotes: These provide concise overviews of a case's facts, issues, and holdings, making it easier to identify relevant decisions.

• British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII): Free Access to Judgments
  • Browse by court or jurisdiction: BAILII provides access to judgments from a wide range of UK courts and tribunals, including the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, and High Court.
  • Search by keyword or citation: Use the search bar to find specific cases or browse recent judgments in your area of interest.

• Other Resources:
  • Court websites: Some courts, like the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeal, publish their judgments directly on their websites.
  • Follow reputable sources: Follow legal news outlets like The Lawyer or Law Society Gazette to receive updates on important cases and legal developments. Some, like Law.com International, provide email newsletters you can subscribe to.
  • Read legal blogs: Many law firms and legal experts maintain blogs that analyse and discuss recent court decisions.

UK legislation is constantly evolving, with new Acts of Parliament, Statutory Instruments (SIs), and amendments introduced regularly. As a law student, staying current with these changes is vital for accurate and effective legal research. Here are some key strategies and resources for tracking legislative developments in the UK:

• Legislation.gov.uk: The Official Source
  • Browse new legislation: The "New Legislation" section on legislation.gov.uk provides a list of recently enacted Acts and SIs.
  • Track changes: The "Changes to Legislation" section allows you to search for specific changes made to legislation based on various criteria, such as date, legislation type, or affected provisions.

• Westlaw and Lexis: Legal Databases with Citator Functionality
  • Check for pending amendments: Both platforms indicate upcoming changes to legislation with a visual cue (e.g., an orange exclamation mark).
  • Use citators: Both Westlaw and Lexis provide detailed citator features for legislation, including commencement dates, lists of amendments and related legislation, and lists of cases citing. Lexis also includes Halsbury's Statutes Citator, a quick, easy way to check on the current status of over 7,600 statutes, listed by year.
  • Browse annotations: Annotations in these databases often highlight recent changes and provide commentary on the impact of amendments.

• UK Parliament Website: Monitor Legislative Progress
  • Track bills: The UK Parliament website provides information on bills currently going through Parliament, their status, and related documents.
  • Consult Hansard: Read the official transcripts of parliamentary debates to understand the legislative intent behind new laws and amendments.

• Government Department Websites: Specialised Updates
  • Follow relevant departments: Subscribe to email updates or RSS feeds from government departments responsible for specific areas of law (e.g., the Ministry of Justice for criminal law updates, the Department for Business and Trade for commercial law changes).

Legal scholarship plays a crucial role in shaping legal discourse, interpreting legislation, and influencing policy decisions. As a law student, staying abreast of the latest academic research and analysis will enhance your understanding of legal principles, broaden your perspectives, and strengthen your critical thinking skills. Here are key strategies and resources for keeping up with legal scholarship in the UK:

• Academic Databases: Your Gateway to Scholarly Publications
  • Westlaw and Lexis: These databases offer access to a vast array of legal journals, law reviews, and academic publications. Use their advanced search features to find articles on specific legal topics or by specific authors.
  • HeinOnline: This platform provides access to a comprehensive collection of international legal journals, law reviews, historical documents, and government publications, often including older issues and archival materials not found elsewhere.
  • JSTOR: A multidisciplinary database with a substantial collection of law journals and books, especially useful for historical and comparative legal research.

• Journal Articles: The Best Research in Your Inbox:
  • Library Search: Set up alerts for searches in Library Search to get email alerts whenever any new articles matching your search terms get added to the databases covered by Library Search.
  • BrowZine/Journals: Add key business titles to My Bookshelf in BrowZine and choose from daily or weekly email alerts whenever any new articles are published in them.

• Social Science Research Network (SSRN): Pre-Print Repository
  • Access working papers and pre-prints: SSRN is a repository for early-stage research, allowing you to discover emerging legal scholarship before it's formally published in journals.
  • Follow specific authors or topics: Subscribe to email alerts to receive notifications when new papers are posted in your areas of interest.

• Legal Blogs and Online Publications: Stay Informed on Current Debates
  • Follow reputable blogs: Many law schools, research centers, and individual scholars maintain blogs that discuss recent legal scholarship and current legal issues.
  • Read online publications: Publications like The Conversation, UK Human Rights Blog, and Oxford Human Rights Hub often feature articles summarising and analysing recent legal research.

• Legal Conferences and Seminars: Engage with Legal Scholars
  • Attend events: Conferences and seminars hosted by universities, professional organisations, and research centres provide opportunities to hear from leading legal scholars and learn about cutting-edge research. Many offer discounted places or bursaries to students.
  • Network with experts: Conferences and seminars offer opportunities to meet and discuss legal issues with academics, practitioners, and other students.

• Other Resources
  • ResearchGate and Academia.edu: These platforms allow researchers to share their work and connect with others in their field.
  • University Research Repositories: Many universities have open-access repositories where faculty and students can publish their research. Derby's is called UDORA - the work of many of your lecturers will be on there!

Google Alerts is a free tool that allows you to monitor the web for new content related to your chosen keywords. While primarily designed for news and general web content, it can also be a valuable resource for law students to stay informed about legal developments. Here's how you can use it effectively:

Setting Up Google Alerts for Legal Research

1. Go to Google Alerts: Visit the Google Alerts website
2. Enter Your Search Terms:
   • Specific Legislation: Use the exact title of the legislation or specific sections you're interested in (e.g., "UK Corporate Governance Code 2018").
   • Legal Concepts or Keywords: Broaden your search with relevant legal terms or phrases (e.g., "judicial review," "human rights law UK").
   • Case Names: If you're tracking a specific case, use the full case name or citation (e.g., "R v Jogee").
   • Law Firm or Organisation Names: Monitor mentions of specific law firms, legal organisations, or government bodies (e.g., "Supreme Court UK," "Law Society of England and Wales").
3. Customise Your Alerts:
   • Sources: Choose the types of sources you want to monitor (e.g., news, blogs, web).
   • Region: Select the geographic region relevant to your research (e.g., United Kingdom).
   • Frequency: Determine how often you want to receive alerts (e.g., daily, weekly, as-it-happens).

Tips for Using Google Alerts in Legal Research

• Refine Your Search Terms: Experiment with different combinations of keywords and phrases to find the most relevant alerts.
• Use Quotation Marks: Enclose phrases in quotation marks to search for exact matches (e.g., "climate change law UK").
• Exclude Terms: Use the minus sign (-) to exclude irrelevant terms (e.g., "Brexit -politics").
• Combine Search Terms: Use the "OR" operator to search for multiple terms (e.g., "cybercrime OR cybersecurity law").
• Be Selective: Don't overload your inbox. Start with a few essential alerts and add more as needed.
• Verify Information: Always verify information from Google Alerts with reliable legal sources before relying on it in your research.

Benefits and Limitations

• Benefits: Google Alerts can help you stay up-to-date with breaking legal news, track developments in specific areas of law, and monitor the online presence of legal organisations and figures.
• Limitations: Google Alerts may not capture all relevant legal information, especially scholarly articles and specialised legal publications. It's best used as a supplemental tool only.