Law

Researching legal dictionaries and encyclopedias is crucial for law students to understand legal terminology and gain a comprehensive overview of legal principles.

1. Legal Databases:

   • Westlaw's Index of Legal Terms, which includes three authoritative legal dictionaries: Stroud's Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases, Jowitt's Dictionary of English Law, and Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary. It also includes statutory definitions from Westlaw legislation.

   • Lexis's Words and Phrases Legally Defined, is an collected of judicial and statutory definitions organised under relevant subject headings in alphabetical order. The definitions comprise extracts from judgements and explanatory editorial notes and, where relevant, contain cross-references to Halsbury's Laws of England. It covers material from the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

2. Explore Additional Encyclopedias:

   • Halsbury's Laws of England: This comprehensive encyclopedia, accessible online via Lexis, provides in-depth analysis of English law across various areas, making it an essential resource for research.
   • Specialist Encyclopedias: Depending on your research topic, consider specialist encyclopedias like Lexis' Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents (for procedural matters) or Archbold Criminal Pleading, Evidence and Practice (for criminal law) on Westlaw.

3. Use Library Resources:

   • Physical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: The Law library contains a range of legal dictionaries and encyclopedias in print format. Browse the shelves to discover additional resources.
   • Library Search: Search Library Search using keywords related to your research topic to find relevant encyclopedias or dictionaries. One of the best is the Oxford Dictionary of Law.

4. Consult Other Sources:

   • Other Websites: Several websites provide free access to legal dictionaries and glossaries, such as the Law Society's legal glossary.
   • Oxford English Dictionary: The OED does include some legal terms, but it may not offer the in-depth definitions and explanations that law students require.