What is Library Search?
Library Search is the main search platform that the Library provides its users. It brings together content from many different databases and publishers in a searchable interface. However, it does not cover the main legal databases, Westlaw and Lexis.
The following link provides instructional videos about Library Search:
https://libguides.derby.ac.uk/c.php?g=689420&p=5058785
How do I access Library Search?
Library search is available from the Library Homepage, or you can use the link below:
Why do I need Library Search if it doesn't include the legal databases?
It is absolutely necessary to use Library Search during your research journey. It provides access to different types of resources—including e-books, journal articles, newspapers, theses—as well as directing you to the Library's print collections. Many of the databases within Library Search will include legal material - for example, business databases will contain journal articles on business law, medical databases will contain articles on medical and ethical legal issues.
It is important to use Library Search alongside Westlaw and Lexis, to ensure you are conducting a thorough and systematic search of all the resources available to you.
Library Search defaults to showing you the content that the library provides. You can, though, see content that the library doesn't provide. To see this additional content, just click Click here to expand your search at the top of the results:
The good news is that it is still possible to obtain this content with an inter-library loan. All you need to do is select Get it for me from other libraries underneath the content that you would like:
Once you've signed in to Library Search, you'll see the following request button. Click it to receive an electronic copy of the content—in this case a journal article—in 24 hours:
If the content you require is a book—or a book chapter—then you can either request the print book to arrive physically or receive an electronic chapter within 24 hours:
Full terms of the inter-library loan service are here:
Library Search will show you the relationships that exist between peer-reviewed journal articles. Remember that journal articles don't exist in a vacuum. They draw from the work of others and even inspire others to write their own journal articles about related topics.
With this in mind, many journal articles—but not all (see note below)—appear in Library Search accompanied with a single-headed arrow pointing down and often with the addition of a two-headed arrow pointing up. What do these mean?
Single-headed arrow pointing down
If you click the single-headed arrow pointing down, you can see all the journal articles that the author of the current article has used in their work:
Two-headed arrow pointing up
If you click the two-headed arrow pointing up, you can see all the journal articles that have also incorporated the current article (note: if you cannot see a two-headed arrow pointing up, it means that no-one has yet cited this work):
These two arrows are extremely useful ways to help you conduct a review of the relevant literature that exists about your chosen topic. They show you the relationships that exist between different works. Who knows, perhaps you'll see your work there one day, too!
* You don't need to worry too much about this, but Web of Science provides the red arrows for Library Search to use. Some journal articles won't be in Web of Science and so Library Search cannot show you red arrows (remember that Web of Science feeds into Library Search).
The University of Derby Library provides access to a wide range of ebooks through various platforms. These platforms allow you to read ebooks online or download them for offline use.
Ebook Central: This platform offers a vast collection of ebooks across different subjects, including law, jurisprudence, politics, criminology and policing. You can search for ebooks by title, author, or keyword. Ebook Central also allows you to highlight text, take notes, and create citations.
VLeBooks: This platform provides access to ebooks from various publishers. You can browse ebooks by subject or search for specific titles. VLeBooks allows you to read ebooks online or download them to your device.
Ebsco eBooks: This platform offers a collection of ebooks on various topics, including law and politics. You can search for ebooks by keyword or browse by subject. Ebsco eBooks allows you to read ebooks online or download them for offline access.
Westlaw: This platform offers a collection of legal practitioner texts, including key titles such as Archbold Criminal Pleading Sentencing and Practice, and The White Book. You can search for texts by keyword or browse by subject. Westlaw allows you to read texts online.
You can also search across the first three databases, and our other ebook, journal articles, and newspaper databases, as well as the print library catalogue, by searching Library Search. You can also browse all of our ebook databases via the Databases A-Z.
For further information about accessing ebooks, as well as the various tools and accessibility functions of the platforms, please visit our eBooks guide.
