What is Elevate My Maths?
Elevate My Maths is an award-winning online platform designed to support numeracy skills training through a personalised programme of assessments and interactive lessons. It was developed by Vretta, a leading educational technology company based in Canada, whose stated mission is “a world where everyone enjoys maths”.
Why is numeracy so important?
Maths and English are the key languages required for further study, for work and for full participation in everyday life. We all recognise the importance of literacy – the ability to read and write – but less often recognise the importance of numeracy – the ability to use numbers and mathematical concepts in everyday life. Fundamental maths topics, including fractions, decimals, percentages, ratios and simple algebra, are used in almost every profession, not just specialist fields such as science and engineering. Nurses, construction workers, members of the business community, participants in sports, and musicians all use maths concepts, as do parents, teachers, and people in the retail and hospitality sectors.
While GCSE and A levels cover a very broad array of maths concepts, the proficiency level required for even a basic pass is quite low, while a good level of numeracy requires high proficiency over a much smaller range of topics. For example, ask yourself how you would feel about accepting a dose of medicine from a nurse who had achieved just 50% in dosage calculations or engaging a carpenter whose skills at measuring and calculating with fractions were only just at a passing level!
Elevate My Maths is designed to help students prepare for success in higher education by checking on their proficiency levels in fundamental maths, providing them with an upgrading module as necessary, and building their confidence as they prepare for further education and training.
How does Elevate My Maths work?
Elevate My Maths uses the principles of assessment for learning and comprises three components for each maths topic:
Numeracy skills digital badges will be awarded following completion of a program.
Elevate My Maths:
Maths by
This friendly self-help workbook covers mathematics essential to first-year undergraduate scientists and engineers. In the second edition of this highly successful textbook the author has completely revised the existing text and added a totally new chapter on vectors. Mathematics underpins all science and engineering degrees, and this may cause problems for students whose understanding of the subject is weak. In this book Jenny Olive uses her extensive experience of teaching and helping students by giving a clear and confident presentation of the core mathematics needed by students starting science or engineering courses. The book contains almost 800 exercises, with detailed solutions given in the back to allow students who get stuck to see exactly where they have gone wrong. Topics covered include trigonometry and hyperbolic functions, sequences and series (with detailed coverage of binomial series), differentiation and integration, complex numbers, and vectors.
Culinary Calculations by
The math skills needed for a successful foodservice career--now in a new edition Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides the mathematical knowledge and skills that are essential for a successful career in today's competitive foodservice industry. This user-friendly guide starts with basic principles before introducing more specialized topics like recipe conversion and costing, AP/EP, menu pricing, and inventory costs. Written in a nontechnical, easy-to-understand style, the book features a running case study that applies math concepts to a real-world example: opening a restaurant. This revised and updated Second Edition of Culinary Calculations covers relevant math skills for four key areas: Basic math for the culinary arts and foodservice industry Math for the professional kitchen Math for the business side of the foodservice industry Computer applications for the foodservice industry Each chapter is rich with resources, including learning objectives, helpful callout boxes for particular concepts, example menus and price lists, and information tables. Review questions, homework problems, and the case study end each chapter. Also included is an answer key for the even-numbered problems throughout the book. Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides readers with a better understanding of the culinary math skills needed to expand their foodservice knowledge and sharpen their business savvy as they strive for success in their careers in the foodservice industry.
Essential Maths for Engineering and Construction by
Don't let your mathematical skills fail you! In Engineering, Construction, and Science examinations, marks are often lost through carelessness or from not properly understanding the mathematics involved. When there are only a few marks on offer for a part of a question, there may be full marks for a right answer and none for a wrong one, regardless of the thought that went into the answer. If you want to avoid losing these marks by improving the clarity both of your mathematical work and your mathematical understanding, thennbsp;Essential Maths for Engineering and Constructionnbsp;is the book for you.We all make mistakes; who doesn't? But mistakes can be avoided when we understand why we make them. Taking mistakes commonly made by undergraduate students as its entry point, this book not only looks at how you can prevent mistakes, but also provides a primer for the fundamental mathematical skills required for your degree discipline. Whether you struggle with different types of interest rates, geometry, statistics, calculus, or any of the other mathematical areas vital to your degree, this book will guide you around the pitfalls.
How to Master Nursing Calculations by
For the maths-phobic, this 2nd edition of the best-selling How to Master Nursing Calculations, is ideal practice for learning key numeracy skills. The perfect companion for your training and in the first few crucial years of your career, it builds your competency through practice, revision and every day examples. Contents includes a review of the basics, clear illustrations of instrument scales, medical administration records and pharmaceutical labels as well as a detailed guide to reading drug dosage charts. Including a brand new list of important abbreviations and a section on how to make drug calculations without equations - requiring little mathematical knowledge - How to Master Nursing Calculations, 2nd edition, will help you master complex dosages and turn you into a maths whiz.
