The Core databases are a good place to start when you're conducting research within your discipline; you can search for journals, articles, conference papers and eBooks which the University Library pays for you to access.
You need to have logged into UDo to use the databases and can access them both in the University and off campus.
You will be able to read many of the articles you find, in full, online and download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the abstract or description of the article; in these cases you may be able to get the resource through our Inter Library loan service
Remember that you can search across even more resources by searching on Library Search but you will be less overwhelmed with the number of results you get back if you choose to search individual databases, and some databases are not included in Library Search so if it's one related to your discipline you will still need to search those databases separately.. You'll also have access to all of the search options each individual database provides.
Remember! Many databases also allow you to create a personal account so that you can save your search strategies and your results to come back to later.
If you have trouble searching / using any of these resources, have a look at the Getting the most from Subject Databases tab in the left-hand menu for videos, interactive tutorials, and other documentation.
If you're having trouble constructing your search string - finding appropriate keywords or synonyms, or you're trying to find an article to start you off, have a look at LitSense which is produced by the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (U.S.) and can be used to search for terms from a sentence you type in.
This could give you some starting papers to harvest search terms from, to see the direction research has gone / is going in, and to identify authors of interest.
This doesn't mean you won't have to search the individual databases with a properly constructed search strategy (including search string), this is an entry-level step to help get you going, but don't stop here!
This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a research database that covers key biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. It is particularly useful for researchers from medical and scientific backgrounds.
This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Ultimate provides indexing for 4,500 journals and full text for more than 2,100 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with full text dating back to 1937. CINAHL Ultimate also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Full text material is included alongside legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970. See below for additional information.
This link opens in a new windowOpen Access Life Science & Medical journals. Hosted by the National Library of Medicine.
Click here for information on the difference between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central).
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative citations and abstracts in biomedical and health matters for nurses, doctors, health-care professionals and researchers.
This link opens in a new windowFull text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.
This link opens in a new windowAn index of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions. The EThOS database provides access to around 260,000 full text theses. These can be accessed either via download from the database or via links to institutional repositories.
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This drop-down list will show the full list of resources that may be useful to you.
They are not all primary sources of information and they are not all 100% full-text.
