When you do your literature review, you can use Library Search to scope out the literature - to see if you're on the right track for your search terms, whether there's enough literature out there for your topic or not. Once you've created your search string and decided which terms to look for you can then use that search string in the various, discipline specific databases most likely to provide you with results based on your topic.
However, when you're doing your scoping search you may decide that you want to export the results you've found in Library Search to look at them in your reference management tool. If that's the case, the brief video below will show you how you can do this.
Can I search databases within EndNote?
Yes, you can search a specific database within EndNote20 by selecting from the databases listed on the left-hand menu under Online Search.
However, this is only recommended when you already know a reference and want to find it searching by author, etc. It is highly recommended to carry out your searches in individual databases, as they have better search functionality, index terms, etc.
How do I export references from Library Search into EndNote Desktop?
You can directly import records into EndNote Desktop from Library Search.
1. Go to your Favourites in Library Search.
2. Select the records that you would like to export and then click on the three dots on the top menu bar as highlighted below for export options.
3. On the Push menu that opens, select Export RIS and then click the Download button.
4. Open EndNote and then import the RIS file into your Library.
You can watch a video demonstrating how to do this by following this link.
How do I export references from Science Direct into EndNote Online?
1. Search on Science Direct.
2. Tick any relevant references in the box to the left of the reference.
3. Select 'Export' and choose Format RIS, then 'Save'.
4. Go into EndNote Online.
5. Select 'Collect' and then 'Import References'.
6. Under 'Browse', select the file which was saved.
7. Under 'Import Option' you need to find EndNote Import from the list. This will appear automatically next time.
8. Under 'To' select a group name you have already created or 'New Group' & give the new group a name.
How do I export references from Web of Science into EndNote Online?
1. Search Web of Science & tick the relevant references you want to save.
2. Select 'Save to EndNote' under the reference list.
3. Click on 'Send Records to mu.endnote.com'.
4. Select the EndNote tab.
5. Select 'All My References'. This shows all the references you have previously imported into EndNote. To show the most recently imported ones choose Sort by 'Added to Library - newest to oldest'.
6. Tick the box to the left of the relevant references.
7. Select 'Add to group' at the top & either choose an existing group or select 'create a group' and give it a name. That group name will appear under 'My Groups' to the left along with any other lists you have created and named.
8. You can select format to put the references into Harvard style/APA and save them into a word document if you want.
9. The reference list will remain in EndNote Online.
How do I export references from other EBSCO databases (e.g. PsycInfo, SPORTDiscus, EBSCO medical databases)?
The instructions are the same as for Library Search, above.
How do I export references from Google Scholar into EndNote Online?
1. In Google Scholar select the Settings option (cog-like wheel icon). Under Bibliographic Manager select EndNote under 'Show links to import citations' and select save.
2. Do your search in Google Scholar. On any relevant references, click on 'Import into EndNote' and then 'Save'.
3. Go into EndNote Online.
4. Select 'Collect' and then 'Import References'.
5. Under browse, select the file which was saved. Each reference will have been saved individually as a file so you need to do this for each one.
6. Under 'Import Option' you need to find EndNote Import from the list. This will appear automatically next time.
7. Under 'To' select a group name you have already created or New Group & give the New Group a name.
8. Repeat for each reference
