Beyond Words: Exploring Audiovisual Databases
Audiovisual databases offer a wealth of resources beyond traditional texts, providing access to documentaries, films, theatre productions, educational videos, and more. These multimedia resources can enhance learning, spark creativity, and provide unique insights across various disciplines. Here's why students should delve into audiovisual databases and how they can be used:
Why Use Audiovisual Databases?
- Engaging learning experience: Audiovisual materials offer a dynamic and engaging way to learn, making complex concepts more accessible and memorable.
- Diverse perspectives: Documentaries, films, and interviews provide diverse viewpoints, cultural insights, and personal narratives, enriching understanding of various topics.
- Visual learning and analysis: Visual learners can benefit from the visual and auditory elements of audiovisual resources, while students in arts and humanities can analyse film techniques, performances, and visual storytelling.
- Access to archival footage and rare recordings: Many audiovisual databases offer access to archival footage, historical recordings, and rare performances, providing valuable primary sources for research.
How Students Can Use Audiovisual Databases:
- History students: Analyse documentaries and newsreels to gain insights into historical events, social movements, and cultural shifts.
- Film and media studies students: Study film techniques, analyse cinematic representations, and explore different genres and styles.
- Performing arts students: Watch performances, evaluate acting techniques, and gain inspiration for their own creative work.
- Education students: Access educational videos and documentaries on pedagogical approaches, classroom management, and learning theories.
- Social science students: Explore documentaries and interviews to understand social issues, cultural practices, and human behaviour.
Key Audiovisual Databases to Explore:
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB): Extensive collection of TV and radio programmes from various channels, covering a wide range of topics and genres.
- Bridgeman Education: Offers a vast collection of images and videos for educational use, covering art, history, science, and more.
- Digital Theatre Plus: Provides access to high-quality recordings of theatre productions from around the world.
- Drama Online: Collection of playtexts, theatre criticism, and performance recordings for studying drama and theatre.
- Gnomon Workshop: Offers video tutorials and demonstrations on various aspects of digital art and animation.
- Human Kinetics Library: Provides access to instructional videos and documentaries on sports science, exercise physiology, and physical therapy.
- Teachers TV: Offers educational videos and resources for teachers and educators.
Tips for Using Audiovisual Databases:
- Start with a clear research question or learning objective: Define what you want to explore or learn and use audiovisual resources to supplement your understanding.
- Use search filters: Refine your search by subject, date, format, or specific keywords to find relevant audiovisual materials.
- Take notes and analyse: Engage critically with audiovisual content by taking notes, analysing themes, and identifying key takeaways.
