LibGuides: Getting the most from Subject Databases: SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge

What Is It
How To Use It

Beyond the Stacks: Expanding Your Horizons with SAGE Knowledge Ebooks

SAGE Knowledge isn't just a database – it's your gateway to a digital library of ebooks, encompassing a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Whether you're diving into required readings, exploring new research areas, or seeking to broaden your understanding of a subject, SAGE Knowledge ebooks offer a valuable resource for students across all degree programmes. Here's why it's worth integrating into your academic toolkit:

Why Choose SAGE Knowledge Ebooks?

Curated Academic Content: Access a diverse collection of scholarly ebooks, carefully selected to support university-level studies across the social sciences, humanities, and STEM fields.
Comprehensive Subject Coverage: Explore a wide array of topics, from core textbooks to specialised monographs, covering everything from anthropology to zoology.
Multi-Format Accessibility: Read online, download chapters for offline access, or even print select pages – choose the format that best suits your study style.
Enhanced Learning Tools: Many ebooks include features like highlighting, note-taking, and citation tools, facilitating active engagement with the material.
Always Available: Unlike physical library books, SAGE Knowledge ebooks are accessible 24/7, eliminating concerns about limited copies or due dates.

How Students Can Leverage SAGE Knowledge Ebooks:

Supplement Course Readings: Deepen your understanding of course material by accessing relevant ebooks that expand upon topics discussed in lectures.
Conduct Independent Research: Explore specialised topics or pursue personal interests through a vast selection of scholarly ebooks.
Prepare for Assignments: Gather background information, find supporting evidence, and discover new perspectives to strengthen your essays and research papers.
Stay Current with Research Trends: Access the latest publications and stay informed about the most recent developments in your field of study.
Enhance Critical Thinking: Engage with diverse viewpoints and scholarly arguments to develop your analytical and critical thinking skills.

Key SAGE Knowledge eBook Collections to Explore:

SAGE Reference: A comprehensive collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, providing in-depth overviews and essential reference materials.
SAGE Academic Books: Curated collections of influential works by leading scholars in the social sciences.
SAGE CQ Press: Current and historical content from an authority on current affairs and the U.S. government.

Mastering SAGE Knowledge: Tips, Tricks, and Training

SAGE Knowledge is designed to be intuitive and user-friendly, but a little guidance can go a long way in maximising its potential. Whether you're a seasoned researcher or just starting out, here's how you can become a SAGE Knowledge expert:

Built-in Help and Support:

Help Page: Explore the comprehensive help section for SAGE Knowledge. It offers step-by-step instructions, tutorials, and FAQs on various features and search functions.
User Guide: This user guide outlines the core functions, including searching and browsing for content, setting up a personal profile and adding items to lists.

Additional Online Resources:

YouTube Videos: Search YouTube for "SAGE Knowledge tutorial" or similar terms. You might find helpful videos created by other users or institutions.
Academic Librarians: Don't hesitate to reach out to your academic librarian. They are experts in their field and can provide valuable advice on search strategies, navigating specific collections, and finding relevant resources within SAGE Knowledge.

Get Started:

The video below will help you get started navigating the SAGE homepage. Further videos on navigating ebooks, using the filter options and creating a profile are available at the same page.