Unlocking the Power of Legal Databases: A Guide for Non-Law Students
Legal databases offer a wealth of information beyond just laws and regulations. They are repositories of knowledge that can enrich research, provide context, and enhance understanding across various academic disciplines. Here's why all students should explore these resources and how they can be use:
Why Use Legal Databases?
- Gain a deeper understanding of your field: Many disciplines intersect with law. Whether you're studying history, politics, business, or even art, legal databases can shed light on relevant legislation, case law, and legal principles, enhancing your understanding of the broader context.
- Access primary source materials: Legal databases provide direct access to original documents like legislation, court judgments, and government reports. This allows for firsthand analysis and interpretation, enriching research and critical thinking.
- Develop research skills: Navigating legal databases requires honing research skills like formulating effective search queries, filtering results, and evaluating sources. These skills are transferable and valuable in any academic pursuit.
How Non-Law Students Can Use Legal Databases:
- History students: Analyse historical legislation and court decisions to gain insights into societal norms, political developments, and legal evolution over time.
- Politics students: Examine political manifestos, parliamentary debates, and legal challenges to policies to understand the political landscape and the interplay between law and governance.
- Business students: Research relevant regulations, contract law, and intellectual property rights to understand the legal framework within which businesses operate.
- Social sciences students: Investigate social issues like discrimination, human rights, and environmental protection through legal cases and policy documents to understand how law impacts society.
Key Legal Databases to Explore:
- Westlaw: Comprehensive coverage of UK law, including case law, legislation, news, and commentary. Ideal for research on any topic with a legal angle.
- Lexis+: Similar to Westlaw, but with a strong focus on practical guidance, precedents, and forms. Useful for understanding how the law applies in real-world situations.
- HeinOnline: Extensive collection of academic legal research, law journals, historical materials, and government documents. Ideal for in-depth research on legal history, theory, or comparative law.
- Practical Law: Wide range of practical resources, including how-to guides, standard documents, and checklists. Valuable for understanding legal processes and drafting legal documents.
