Beyond Textbooks: Exploring Dissertation and Theses Databases
Dissertation and theses databases are invaluable resources for students across all disciplines, offering a wealth of knowledge beyond textbooks and published research. They provide access to original research conducted by fellow students and scholars, offering unique insights and perspectives. Here's why students should explore these databases and how they can be used:
Why Use Dissertation and Thesis Databases?
- Access to original research: These databases provide access to a vast collection of dissertations and theses, offering a glimpse into the latest research trends and methodologies in various fields.
- Discover new ideas and perspectives: Dissertations and theses often tackle niche topics and offer unique perspectives, potentially sparking new ideas for your own research.
- Review research methodologies: Examining the research methodologies and approaches used in other dissertations and theses can help you refine your own research design.
- Understand academic writing conventions: Reading dissertations and theses can familiarise you with the conventions of academic writing in your field, improving your own writing skills.
How Students Can Use Dissertation and Thesis Databases:
- Literature review: Identify relevant dissertations and theses to gain a comprehensive understanding of existing research in your field.
- Methodology inspiration: Explore different research methodologies and approaches used by other researchers for inspiration and guidance.
- Identify research gaps: Analysing existing research can help you identify gaps in knowledge and potential areas for further investigation.
- Network with researchers: Contacting authors of relevant dissertations and theses can lead to collaboration opportunities and mentorship.
Key Dissertation and Thesis Databases to Explore:
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Extensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, covering various disciplines.
- British Library's EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service): National repository of UK doctoral theses, offering access to full-text or abstracts of thousands of theses.
- UDORA (University of Derby Online Research Archive): Institutional repository hosting PhD theses from the University of Derby.
Tips for Using Dissertation and Thesis Databases:
- Use specific keywords: Start with clear search terms related to your research topic and refine them as needed.
- Limit by date and institution: Focus your search on recent dissertations or those from specific universities or departments.
- Read abstracts and introductions: Quickly assess the relevance of a dissertation or thesis by reading its abstract and introduction.
- Contact authors: If allowed by the database or institutional repository, reach out to authors for further information or clarification.
