Getting the most from Subject Databases

Unlocking the World of Knowledge: SAGE Knowledge – Your Encyclopedic Resource

SAGE Knowledge is far more than just a database; it's a comprehensive digital library filled with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks covering a vast array of subjects. Whether you're writing an essay, conducting research, or simply curious about a topic, SAGE Knowledge can be an invaluable resource for students across all degree programmes. Here's why it's worth exploring and how it can enrich your academic journey:

Why Explore SAGE Knowledge?

• Encyclopedic Depth: Delve into comprehensive encyclopedias covering topics from anthropology to zoology, gaining in-depth knowledge and understanding across disciplines.
• Quick Reference Dictionaries: Quickly look up definitions, concepts, and key terms in specialised dictionaries tailored to your field of study.
• Expertly-Crafted Handbooks: Access handbooks that provide overviews, methodologies, and current research trends in specific subject areas.
• Interdisciplinary Connections: Explore how different fields intersect and influence each other through cross-references and thematic connections within the database.
• Reliable and Scholarly Content: Rest assured that the information you find is authoritative, curated by experts, and based on rigorous academic standards.

How Students Can Make Use of SAGE Knowledge:

• Literature Reviews: Quickly get up to speed on a new topic by reading encyclopedia entries or handbook chapters.
• Clarify Concepts: Look up unfamiliar terms or theories in specialised dictionaries to solidify your understanding.
• Find Key References: Encyclopedias and handbooks often cite foundational works, helping you identify important sources for further research.
• Expand Your Vocabulary: Encountering new terminology in context can enhance your academic writing and communication skills.
• Spark New Ideas: Browsing through entries on related topics can lead to unexpected insights and inspire innovative research questions.

Key SAGE Knowledge Resources to Explore:

• SAGE Reference: A vast collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks spanning the social sciences, humanities, and STEM fields.
• SAGE CQ Press: Current and historical content from an authority on current affairs and the U.S. government.