Unlocking the World with Map Databases: A Guide for Non-Geography Students
Maps are not just for geographers. They are powerful tools for understanding the world, visualising data, and uncovering hidden patterns across various disciplines. Map databases offer a wealth of historical and contemporary maps, spatial data, and geospatial tools that can enrich research and provide new perspectives. Here's why non-geography students should explore these resources and how they can be used:
Why Use Map Databases?
- Gain a spatial perspective: Maps help visualise spatial relationships and patterns, revealing insights that may not be apparent in text or data alone. Whether you're studying history, archaeology, or urban planning, maps can provide a unique perspective on your research questions.
- Access historical and contemporary maps: Map databases offer a vast collection of historical maps, allowing you to explore how landscapes, cities, and communities have changed over time. Additionally, contemporary maps provide up-to-date information on current geographies, demographics, and infrastructure.
- Analyze spatial data: Many map databases integrate with Geographic Information Systems (GIS) software, enabling you to analyse spatial data, create custom maps, and visualise complex information.
- Develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills: Working with maps encourages critical thinking, spatial reasoning, and problem-solving skills as you interpret data, analyse patterns, and draw conclusions.
How Non-Geography Students Can Use Map Databases:
- History students: Trace historical events, analyse territorial changes, and understand the spatial context of historical developments.
- Environmental studies students: Map environmental data, analyse land use patterns, and visualize the impact of human activities on the environment.
- Urban planning students: Examine urban growth, transportation networks, and demographic patterns to inform urban planning decisions.
- Literature and language students: Map literary settings, trace the diffusion of languages, and analyse the spatial context of literary works.
Key Map Databases to Explore:
- Digimap Collection: Extensive collection of Ordnance Survey maps, geological maps, historical maps, and aerial photographs covering the UK.
- Connected Histories: Provides access to a wide range of historical maps and geospatial resources for historical research.
Tips for Using Map Databases:
- Start with a clear research question: Define what you want to explore and use maps to visualise and analyse relevant information.
- Choose the right map type: Different map types serve different purposes. Consider using topographic maps for terrain analysis, thematic maps for data visualisation, or historical maps for exploring past geographies.
- Use geospatial tools: Many map databases integrate with GIS software, allowing for more in-depth analysis and visualisation of spatial data.
