Beyond Numbers: Exploring Data and Statistics Databases for
Data and statistics databases are not just for statisticians and economists. They are treasure troves of information that can enrich research, inform decision-making, and provide evidence-based insights across various disciplines. Here's why students should delve into these resources and how they can be used:
Why Use Data and Statistics Databases?
- Evidence-based research: Data and statistics provide empirical evidence to support arguments, test hypotheses, and draw meaningful conclusions. Whether you're studying social sciences, business, or even humanities, data can strengthen your research findings.
- Understand trends and patterns: Analysing data over time reveals trends and patterns that can inform decision-making and policy development.
- Access a wide range of data: Databases offer access to diverse datasets, including economic indicators, social surveys, demographic data, and industry-specific statistics.
- Develop analytical skills: Working with data requires critical thinking, analytical skills, and the ability to interpret complex information. These skills are valuable for research, problem-solving, and decision-making in various fields.
How Students Can Use Data and Statistics Databases:
- Social science students: Analyse demographic trends, social attitudes, and public opinion data to understand social issues and inform policy recommendations.
- Business students: Research market trends, consumer behaviour, and industry performance to inform business strategies and decision-making.
- Economics students: Analyse economic indicators, financial data, and labour market statistics to understand economic trends and inform economic policy.
- Health science students: Explore health statistics, epidemiological data, and public health surveys to understand health outcomes and inform healthcare interventions.
- Environmental science students: Analyse environmental data, climate change indicators, and pollution statistics to understand environmental impacts and inform sustainability efforts.
Key Data and Statistics Databases to Explore:
- BCIS Online: Provides cost data, construction project information, and market analysis for the construction industry.
- FAME: Offers financial data and company information for UK and international companies.
- Gale Business Insights: Provides company profiles, industry reports, and market analysis for various industries.
- Historical Data UK: Offers historical financial and economic data for the UK.
- MarketLine: Provides market research reports, industry analysis, and company profiles.
- Office for National Statistics (ONS): Official source of UK statistics on various topics, including population, economy, and society.
- ProQuest One Business: Comprehensive business database with company information, industry reports, and market analysis.
- Scopus: Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific articles, books, and conference proceedings.
- Statista: Provides statistics and data on various topics, including consumer behaviour, market trends, and social media.
- UK Data Service: The largest collection of social and economic data in the UK, including government surveys and research datasets.
Tips for Using Data and Statistics Databases:
- Start with a clear research question: Define what information you need and use the database's search functions to find relevant datasets.
- Understand data sources and limitations: Evaluate the credibility and relevance of data sources before using them in your research.
- Use appropriate analysis tools: Choose statistical software or tools suitable for your research question and data type.
