Navigating Health Databases: A Guide for Non-Health Students
Health databases are invaluable resources for students across various disciplines, even those outside of healthcare. They provide a wealth of information on topics ranging from public health and social care to psychology and nutrition. Here's why non-health students should explore these databases and how they can be used:
Why Use Health Databases?
- Understand health-related issues: Whether you're studying sociology, psychology, or even history, health databases can provide context and evidence to understand the impact of health issues on society, individuals, and communities.
- Access reliable information: Health databases contain peer-reviewed articles, clinical trials, systematic reviews, and other evidence-based sources, ensuring the information you find is credible and trustworthy.
- Enhance research skills: Searching through health databases requires developing search strategies, using specific terminology, and evaluating information critically. These skills are transferable and applicable to other research areas.
How Non-Health Students Can Use Health Databases:
- Sociology students: Investigate health disparities, social determinants of health, and the impact of health policies on different populations.
- Psychology students: Explore the psychological aspects of health and illness, mental health interventions, and the role of psychology in health promotion.
- Education students: Research health education programs, health literacy, and the impact of education on health behaviors.
- Public policy students: Analyse health policies, healthcare systems, and the economic implications of health-related decisions.
Key Health Databases to Explore:
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature): Comprehensive coverage of nursing, allied health, and complementary therapies.
- Medline (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online): Extensive biomedical database covering a wide range of health topics.
- Embase (Excerpta Medica Database): Focus on biomedical and pharmacological research, including drug information and clinical trials.
- PubMed: Free access to Medline and other biomedical databases.
- Cochrane Library: Collection of systematic reviews on various health topics.
- AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database): Covers complementary and alternative medicine.
- CareKnowledge: UK-based database focusing on social care and community care.
Tips for Using Health Databases:
- Start with a specific research question: Having a clear question will help you narrow down your search and find relevant information.
- Use keywords and Boolean operators: Combine search terms with "AND," "OR," and "NOT" to refine your results.
- Consult a librarian: Librarians can provide guidance on selecting databases, constructing search strategies, and accessing full-text articles.
