Beyond Lectures: Expanding Your Knowledge with Ebook Databases
Ebook databases are a student's secret weapon, offering access to a wealth of knowledge that extends far beyond the core texts assigned in lectures. These platforms house a curated selection of academic books, chosen by lecturers to complement course materials, as well as a broader range of titles for background reading and independent study. Here's why you should leverage ebook databases and how they can enhance your learning experience:
Why Dive into Ebook Databases?
- Core Texts & Beyond: Access required readings alongside supplementary texts selected by your lecturers to deepen your understanding of the subject matter.
- Wide Range of Topics: Explore a vast library covering diverse disciplines, allowing you to delve into areas of personal interest or pursue independent research.
- Accessibility Features: Many ebook databases offer text-to-speech, adjustable font sizes, and other tools to enhance the reading experience for users with diverse needs.
- Convenience and Flexibility: Read on your own terms – anytime, anywhere, on various devices – making it easier to fit learning into your busy schedule.
How to Make the Most of Ebook Databases:
- Start with Library Search: Library Search is the gateway to a wealth of ebook resources. Many of the ebook databases are searched here all in one go.
- Explore Subject-Specific Databases: Discover platforms tailored to your field of study, such as JSTOR for humanities and social sciences, or ScienceDirect or Knovel for science and engineering.
- Understand Copyright and DRM: Be aware of copyright restrictions and Digital Rights Management (DRM) limitations that may limit access, copying and printing.
- Download and Organise: Take advantage of offline reading options by downloading ebooks to your personal devices.
Key Ebook Databases to Explore:
- eBook Central: One of the Library's main eBook platforms, providing a breadth and depth of eBooks from sources including University Presses and major publishers.
- EBSCO eBooks: Specialises in academic content, with a focus on scholarly books and journals across various disciplines.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks: Provides access to a vast collection of ebooks from a leading academic publisher.
