Beyond Textbooks: Exploring Technical Standards and Guidance Databases
Technical standards and guidance databases are not just for engineers and scientists. They are essential resources for students across various disciplines, providing access to industry-standard information, best practices, and technical specifications. Here's why students should explore these databases and how they can be used:
Why Use Technical Standards and Guidance Databases?
- Understand industry practices: These databases provide insights into the latest industry standards, codes of practice, and technical guidelines. Whether you're studying engineering, construction, or even design, understanding industry standards is crucial for professional development.
- Access technical specifications: Detailed technical specifications for materials, products, and processes are available in these databases. This information is essential for designing, building, and maintaining various systems and structures.
- Stay up-to-date with regulations: Technical standards and guidance often reflect legal and regulatory requirements. Staying informed about these standards ensures compliance and safety in your work.
- Enhance research and problem-solving skills: Navigating technical databases requires specific search strategies and critical evaluation of information. These skills are valuable for research projects and real-world problem-solving.
How Students Can Use Technical Standards and Guidance Databases:
- Engineering students: Access design codes, material specifications, and safety guidelines for various engineering disciplines.
- Construction students: Find building regulations, construction standards, and best practices for different construction projects.
- Architecture students: Research building materials, structural design, and energy efficiency standards for sustainable building design.
- Design students: Explore design standards, material properties, and manufacturing processes for various products.
- Business students: Understand industry regulations, safety standards, and quality assurance practices for different industries.
Key Technical Standards and Guidance Databases to Explore:
- BCIS Online: Provides cost data, construction project information, and market analysis for the construction industry.
- British Standards Online (BSOL): Comprehensive collection of British Standards covering various industries and sectors.
- Construction Information Service (CIS): Offers construction product information, technical guidance, and regulatory updates.
- ICE Virtual Library: Collection of civil engineering resources, including standards, journals, and conference proceedings.
- IEEE Xplore: Digital library with a vast collection of technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and related fields.
- iSurv: Provides guidance and information on surveying practices and standards.
- Technical Indexes: Collection of technical indexes and abstracts covering various engineering and scientific disciplines.
Tips for Using Technical Standards and Guidance Databases:
- Start with a clear research question: Define what information you need and use the database's search functions to find relevant standards or guidance.
- Use specific keywords: Technical terms and acronyms are often used in these databases. Use precise language to refine your search results.
