To create a personal account for resources on the Elsevier platform (Scopus, Embase, & Science Direct) you will need to go to one of those resources from either the Databases A-Z page, or via a link in your school's library subject guide, and click on the Sign In button or link.
At this point you should see a sign-in page. Even though you don't have an account at this stage, put your email address into the email box - do not click on the button at the bottom of the box to sign-in via institution, this will not work. Instead, click on the Continue button.
When you click on continue, your email address will be checked against Elsevier's records and when they don't find your email they should present you with the registration / create an account form. At this point you just need to put in your first name and surname, and choose a strong password. There will be some terms and conditions and the option to sign up for news emails if you would like.
Once your account is created you can use it to log into Scopus, Embase, Science Direct, and the free reference management tool Mendeley.
As they are all Elsevier products that single, personal account covers them all.
Having trouble creating your personal account? Contact Library Enquiries for help.
To create a personal account for resources on the EBSCO platform you will need to go to one of those resources from either the Databases A-Z page, or via a link in your school's library subject guide, and click on the Sign In button or link.
At this point you should see a sign-in page with the option to either Create an Account, or Sign in. Click on the Create an Account button.
Then, on the next page, fill out the form according to the details listed on screen.
and then click on the create account button at the bottom.
At this point, you may be asked to log in (so it probably won't log you in automatically as part of the process of creating your account).
Once you're signed in you'll be able to:
| Database | Coverage | Database | Coverage | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database |
Abstracts back to 1995; 500 journals indexed Complementary & alternative medicine; fibromyalgia; occupational therapy; palliative care; physiotherapy; podiatry; rehabilitation; speech & language therapy |
APA PsycInfo
|
Behavioural & social science research, dissertations, & scholarly literature Psychology, counselling & psychotherapy, mental health topics 2,400 indexed & abstracted peer-reviewed journals |
|
|
APA PsycArticles
|
247K full-text articles from c.120 journals 119 peer-reviewed journals Includes all APA-published scholarly journals; journals from the Canadian Psychological Association, & the Hogrefe Publishing Group |
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) |
151 active full-text journals & magazines 107 active full-text, peer-reviewed journals (86 with no embargo on current content) Fine art; decorative art; commercial art; photography; film, and architecture |
|
| British Education Index |
1929 - present Educational policy, psychology, technology; special education needs; cognitive development; curriculum; computer assisted learning; English (second language); language acquisition; multicultural education; physical education; science education; teacher education Searchable by educational level and age group. |
CINAHL Ulitmate |
1,837 active full-text journals 1,665 active, peer-revied journals 1,545 active, global open access (OA) journals Ambulatory care nursing;cardiovascular nursing; critical care nursing; emergency medical technicians; gerontologic nursing; nuclear medicine technicians; occupational therapy; oncologic nursing; paediatric nursing; physical therapy; psychiatric nursing |
|
| Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text |
244 active, full-text journals & magazines 222 active, peer-reviewed full-text journals 113 active, open access (OA) journals Criminal justice; criminology; forensic sciences & investigation; corrections & prisons; police & policing; criminal law & procedure; criminal investigaion; history of crime; probation & parole; substance abuse & addiction |
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) | Content varies | |
| European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 |
This is an archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750 Includes primary source records on the history of European exploration, & portrayals of Native American Peoples 32,000 records British / Dutch / French in America; commerce; discoveries; British colonies; Jesuits (& other religious orders) in America; pirates; the slave trade |
GreenFILE |
Free research database covering human impact to the environment through scholarly, government, & general interest titles acrosu a range of disciplines such as law, education, agriculture, health, & technology Global climate change; green building; pollution; sustainable agriculture; renewable energy; recycling |
|
| Hospitality & Tourism Index |
248 active indexed & abstracted journals 170 active peer-reviewed indexed & abstracted journals 107 active global OA journals Hospitality & tourism, hospitality law, market trends, hotel management, parks & recreation administration, customer service, cruises & ocean travel, development & investment |
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
Free research database 494 active indexed & abstracted journals 408 active , peer-reviewed indexed & abstracted journals Automation, care & restoration of books, cataloguing, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright, electronic resources and ERM systems, electronic searching, public relations, publishing, rare books, reference services |
|
|
MEDLINE Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) |
Contains international journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature 1966 to the present with citations from 5,200+ journals globally Contains some open access (OA) material Medicine (clinical & experimental), diagnostic imaging, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare system & policy development, pre-clinical sciences, paramedical professions, occupational therapy, physiotherapy Biology, biophysics, chemistry, environmental science, marine biology, plant & animal science, behavioural sciences, bio-engineering, public health & epidemiology |
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection |
315 active full-text journals & magazines 308 active full-text, peer-reviewed journals Full-text content includes many psychology journals indexed in APA PsycInfo Particularly good for child & adolescent psychology & counselling Anthropology, emotional & behavioural characteristics, mental processes, observational & experimental methods, psychiatry & psychology |
|
| Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) |
182 active full-text journals & magazines Agriculture / agricultural research, applied mathematics, artificial intelligence, astronomy, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, earth science, ecology, engineering, environmental science, immunology, neural networks, optical and neural computing, palaeontology, physics, physiology, robotics, zoology |
SPORTDiscus with Full Text |
451 active full-text journals & magazines 375 active full-text, peer-reviewed journals 277 active full-text, peer-reviewed journals with no embargo 259 active global open access (OA) journals Athletic training, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, orthopaedics, physical education, physical therapy, sociology of sports, sport psychology, sports injuries and rehabilitation, sports management, sports sciences |
Last updated: 12 November 2025
